Sunday Salon – Reading into the wee hours of the night

tssbadge2

Hello Saloners and regular readers!  How are you?  I’m doing well, minus the rings that are probably forming around my eyes.  Why, you ask?  Because, I fell asleep last night with my face plastered the book I was reading and didn’t think to wake up and move it until 5:45, but then I couldn’t get back to sleep.  None of this is necessarily a bad thing, because I was completely engrossed in the book I was reading!  I didn’t fall asleep because it was boring, just because I wanted to keep reading it, but eventually could not stay awake.  I officially read 327 pages yesterday.  That’s a lot for me.  My dad and two little sisters came to visit yesterday too, so I didn’t even have a full day of reading.  I’m reading The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb, which first of all is an amazing title.  Second of all, I love the cover.  Third of all, it’s amazing.  I’m only really half way through, but I’m so impressed.  It’s going to be hard to concentrate on all the homework I have to do today.  I had been staying away from Wally Lamb after all the horrible things I’d heard about She’s Come Undone, but I read a review at the Bluestocking Society that said they too were put off by the lewdness of She’s Come Undone, so I jumped into this one.  I’m so glad I did!  It’s amazing.

Also this week, I finished The Wood Wife, which was superb.  My dad also let me go to the bookstore and pick out some books I wanted.  So I got: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, because I wanted my own copy.  The Complete Poems: 1927-1979 by Elizabeth Bishop and American Primitive: Poems by Mary Oliver.  I’m really excited about all three!

Have a happy holiday today, everyone!  Whether your celebrating Easter, Passover, or just plain Sunday.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon – Reading into the wee hours of the night

  1. Now that is reading bliss! So absorbed that not even the physical needs of the self get noticed. Happy reading (and escapism) this holiday Sunday!

  2. She’s Come Undone is one of my favorite books – and marked my entry into the world of Wally Lamb. I would give it a shot, if I were you. 🙂

    Happy reading!

  3. Haha! I’ve fallen asleep with a book in my hand several times (not sure about plastered to my face, though). Glad you had a nice Easter. I’m curious about the Lamb book–I’ve read some of his other fiction and like his writing style.

Leave a Reply

