March Madness!

roundupbutton

No, not basketball, books!  There’s a brief lull in the crazy schoolwork, so I thought I would bring you my stats for the month of March:

Goal: 10 books, 7 by women
Accomplished: 8 books, 7 by women
Total number of pages read: 2189

Books read:

The Red Tent – Anita Diamant  – 88%
Kitchen – Banana Yoshimoto – 98%
Malinche – Laura Esquivel – 65%
Uncle Tom’s Cabin – Harriet Beecher Stowe – 89%
Fear of Flying – Erica Jong –  45%
Beneath My Mother’s Feet – Amjed Qamar – 88%
Kindred – Octavia Butler – 95%
Neon Vernacular – Yusef Komunyakaa  –  97%

Average score of the books I read this month: 83%
That’s not bad.  There were some real winners this month – I’ve discovered some of my all-time favorite books not only for the year, but potentially of all time.  But I also discovered one of my least favorite.  I also finished my first challenge!  Granted, it was one I started (which feels little like cheating), but still!  I’m really excited!

Challenge update:

A to Z Challenge – 8/52
Dewey Decimal Challenge – 1.75/10
Read Your Name Challenge – 1/6
Orbis Terrarum Challenge – 0/10
1% Well-Read – 0/13
Celebrate Women’s History Month – 7/7
Once Upon a Time III Challenge – 0/4
Personal reading goal for 2009 – 21/100

Right now, I only have to read 8 books a month to make it to my goal!  I can totally do it.  Besides, during the summer months it will be a lot easier without school.  Overall, March was a success.  Though I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked, I finished a challenge!  As for my goals for April, I’m going to keep them down a little bit:

7 books
At least:
3 science fiction/fantasy
1 non-fiction

2 thoughts on “March Madness!

  1. Congratulations on finishing a challenge! Glad you find some time to read in spite of your exam work.

    I also finished a challenge last week – no big deal really, as I only participated in one, but as it was my first ever, I felt quite good.

Leave a Reply

