Once Upon a Time III

out3banner6200

Carl V of this blog is someone I have heard of ever since I started book blogging.  I’ve yet to be acquainted with him, but most of the blogs on my reader were ridiculously excited, jumping for joy etc, for the Once Upon a Time III challenge.  You can’t ignore such excitement!  I know I can’t.  I trust all those folks, so I decided that I had to finally check this blog out.  I’ve certainly been missing out!  And now, I can’t wait to sink my teeth in to this challenge.   I’m already reading Kindred, which will be the first on my list!

out3q1

I will be joining Quest the First, because I have no idea what I’m going to be reading or what category it will fall under.

Some possible books:

The Mystery of Grace by Charles De Lint
The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein
Kindred by Octavia Butler
Sabriel by Garth Nix
Perfume by Patrick Suskind
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Nation by Terry Pratchett
The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susannah Clarke

More to be added, I’m sure!

12 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time III

  1. I am so glad that you have decided to follow the infectious excitement and get in on this one. Thank you so much for joining in, it really makes me happy to meet new people through these challenges. I do my best to make it fun by doing various theme-related posts throughout the challenge period, so I hope you have fun and meet a bunch of great people. And, of course, read a lot of great books! 🙂

  2. The only one I’ve read off your list is The Hobbit, so I’m really looking forward to reading your reviews and perhaps adding more books to my crazy-long TBR list!

  3. So glad to see you join Lu!! And I’m in love with your list of books! Sabriel is one of my favorite books…I just love that whole series. The Ladies of Grace Adieu is perfectly lovely, and Nation is just fantastic! And of course, you can never go wrong with The Hobbit! Enjoy!

  4. Lu, I’ve read The Hobbit and Howl’s Moving Castle, both very exciting books! Highly recommended! If you’ve seen the movie for Howl’s Moving Castle, though, you’ll have to forget what you saw – because it is almost nothing at all like the book on which it was based. I had read the book first, then I saw the movie on DVD, and although I liked the movie (I admit it was great), I was rather disappointed at how much of it was very different from the story I enjoyed reading. Good luck on your Challenge! Have fun!

  5. Okay, I totally forgot that I have Howl’s Moving Castle, and The Ladies of Grace Adieu _ and I haven’t read either of them.
    The more participants’ blogs I visit, the longer my mental list gets …

  6. I read The Hobbit in really early high school. I should mark it for a reread I think! I too will be reading a Garth Nix book, and I am thinking I should have added a Pratchett!

Leave a Reply

