The Sunday Salon (8)

tssbadge21

This Sunday Salon, since I don’t have too much book news to share with you, I thought I’d bring up the question… Why did you get into book blogging?  I can tell you how I ended up here.  A couple years ago I started keeping track of the books I read, plus the occasional favorite quote, for reasons unknown to me.  It just seemed like a good idea.  So after finishing a book I would write its name down on the list and that was that, I’d move on.  Then I found Shelfari and started writing little mini reviews.  I still use Shelfari as a way of getting to know other readers and finding out what other people think of a book I just read.  Then I started a crafting blog.  That was, needless to say, a failure, because I do not craft regularly or skilfully enough to generate any sort of readership.  So when I didn’t have a craft to write about (always) I would write about the books I had been reading instead.  Then it hit me… what I should be doing is not blogging about crafts, I should be blogging about books!  DUH.  And here I am, blogging about books and having a ton of fun.

The coolest thing about keeping track of the books I’ve read is that I can go back through the list and tell you where I was, what I was doing and who I was with for most of the books.  It’s like a diary.  I also wish I had been recording all the books I had read for my whole life.  What got me thinking about all of this, was over at Bart’s Bookshelf they had the interesting quote by Nick Hornby about David Almond’s YA book Skellig (head on over to his blog to check it out!).  The name Skellig sounded familiar, so I looked it up on Wikipedia.  It took me a good few paragraphs about the story to realize that I had already read it!  But I don’t remember anything about it.  I don’t know if keeping track of all the books I’ve read will actually help me remember them, but at least help me remember that I’ve read them.  Plus I wish I had a list so I could recommend all those good books to my little sisters.

Still reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin, I’m just moving slowly and that’s okay with me.  I’m not moving slow because it’s slow reading, just because I am.  It’s really good.  I’m surprised.  I often find when I’m reading classics that I never really get into the story.  Sometimes I might admire the language or the subject matter or something about it, but I’m never completely intrigued.  But in the first 200 pages, there has not been a single dull moment.  Marie St. Clare makes me want to jump into the pages and slap her.  Repeatedly.  And that would be being nice.

Have a great reading week everyone!

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon (8)

  1. I really liked Uncle Tom’s Cabin also when I read it a few weeks ago. And I agree about Marie!! She could have used a good slap! 🙂

    Lezlie

  2. Great question! I started blogging about three years ago, but my first blog was mainly about perfume. (http://sweet-diva.blogspot.com) Occasionally I would post book reviews, and I was a regular lurker at several book blogs. In 2008 I started some challenges, but I gave up blogging…and when I decided to start blogging again, I decided to go with books, which are a real passion for me, as they are for so many great bloggers out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

