Weekly Geeks – Quote a Day

feather-penThis week, Weekly Geeks asks you to post a quote a day all week and to unite them with a theme.  The theme I have chosen is quotes from poetry.

There are poems I read and I say they kill me.  My professor would say she is jealous that she didn’t write them first.  But I think the feeling is essentially the same.  There’s physical ache when you read them and afterward you’re never the same.  I’m trying to read more poetry these days, because I usually stick to my favorites.  Neruda, ee cummings and Derek Walcott.   I’m sure most of you have heard of and read poetry by Neruda and ee cummings, but what about Walcott?  He was a poet that I had never heard of before I took a post colonial literature class my freshman year.  I don’t know what exactly it is about him, but his poetry is just beautiful.  He writes about the islands of his birth with such beauty and honesty, I can’t get enough of it.  Most of his poetry is very dense, begging to be read outloud.

While looking for the perfect poem/quote to feature, I found this one:

Midsummer, Tobago

Broad sun-stoned beaches.

White heat.
A green river.

A bridge,
scorched yellow palms

from the summer-sleeping house
drowsing through August.

Days I have held,
days I have lost,

days that outgrow, like daughters,
my harbouring arms.

It’s quite the departure from some of his other poetry, but it’s that last line that really gets to me.  “days that outgrow, like daughters,/my harbouring arms” is that gut-wrenching line that I love.  The image is so perfect, so original. I love it.

(Button photo credit: alsoknownascassie)

7 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks – Quote a Day

  1. What beautiful words and imagery. I think its wonderful that I’m going to get a mini-poetry lesson with my quote. At least I hope you are going to do this every day. ee cummings is the only one I’ve heard of.

  2. Thanks for the introduction. Gorgeous. Love the final also but also enjoyed the scenery description and “Days I have held.” And realize now that constitutes the whole poem. Poetry all week right? I’ll be back.

  3. All poetry should be read aloud. Otherwise we miss the full measure of its beauty. I love, love, love poetry. I know Walcott’s work. I have some. He’s also a favorite poet of a poet friend. If you’d like to know more about this poet, you might check out my friend’s blog.

    Can’t profess any expertise regarding poetry, still I try to read it daily. Interesting you chose this poem today. My Poetry Friday entry is about the relationship with daughters by another island poet. Hope you’ll take a look.

    Regarding WG, daily quotes are a regular feature at my blog. Please check the top of my sidebar.

    Enjoyed reading here today. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

