Regular Rumination Celebrates Women’s History Month!

womenWhen I was making my goals for this month, I didn’t even realize that March is Women’s History Month.  I decided that I’m going to celebrate women authors this month and read at least 7 books by women to be reviewed here.  Are you interested in joining me?  I think it would be fun to make it a mini-challenge.  Are you game?

One of things that got me thinking about this was this article I read recently about the lack of women authors in the canon.  I can’t find the specific article now, but it certainly is an interesting question.  Why are women so underrepresented in schools, bestsellers, literature?  I think that maybe it is changing, slightly, but it is still a question to ask.  Think about the books you read back in high school that was “required reading.”  How many of those were written by women?  How many by men?  Do you think this divide actually exists or is it just a bunch of hype?

So let’s see what’s out there!  Read the books by women that you have always thought about reading, but never got around to.  At the end we’ll have a great big wrap up post, and even a giveaway for those who complete the challenge.

OPTIONS:

1 – Read 3 books by any women.
2 – Read 5 books by any women.
3 – Read 7 books by any women.
4 – Read 10 books by any women.
This is the first challenge I have hosted, so if you have any ideas for me, let me know! I’m really looking forward to this one.

(Button image credit: angela7dreams)

29 thoughts on “Regular Rumination Celebrates Women’s History Month!

  1. Great question! I know I didn’t read any women in HS except Jane Austen, the Brontes, and Alcott. It was years later that I found out that Virginia Woolf wasn’t a drunk Liz Taylor character in a movie. VERY SAD, huh!?

    IS your challenge just for March?! I can only commit to 3 books – and it sounds like a big goal. All the books I was hoping to get to are by male authors dagnabbit.

  2. I would love to try out this mini-challenge! What do we need to do to participate? As much as I would like to read more than three books by women this month, that is probably the best I am going to be able to do. So I’ll try Option 1 and see how that goes. 🙂

  3. the canon is full of male authors. the only female authors who are in the canon are those that had to adopt made pseudonyms (i.e. George Eliot). Yay for Women’s Reading Month!

  4. I think part of the reason women aren’t in the canon is because there just weren’t as many female writers writing as men (historically), and the ones that were didn’t get as much attention at their time. I think schools are doing a good job now of trying to point out more women writers, but I also think it’s sort of disingenuous to try and make women writers more prolific than they actually were. Maybe that makes me a bad woman, I’m not sure 🙂

    Anyway, this sounds like a fun little challenge, so I’m in. I’ll try to read three books this month by women writers. Since I only read three books total last month, that will probably be quite enough!

  5. I love March because it is Women’s History Month. I invite you and friends to check out the daily women’s history and literature quizzes at Color Online celebrating women. We focus on women 365 days a year. We’re currently running an Around the Globe reading challenge focusing on women of color writers around the globe. Prizes offered. All you have to do is submit a review.

    I read primarily women and I majored in English. The canon is changing. I realized early on that if I depended on the canon for the best of literature I’d find very few authors who look or think like me.

    I like the fellas. I prefer the women.

  6. We were required to read women in high school and later in college. A solid education nurtures a desire to learn more, to know more. I knew I wanted to hear my own voice. For most of my adult life I have sought out the voices of women and have founded a community and blog to support and promote women of color writers.

    I invite you to check us out at Color Online. We’d love to have you, to hear what you think about the women writers you discover.

  7. I didn’t read that many women writers in high school but I more than made up for that in my personal reading. Growing up it was rare for me to read a male writer. Even now I read mostly books written by females. Sign me up. I’m in. What a great challenge!

  8. This is a great idea! I had to take specialized courses on women in university in order to read books by them. I don’t think it was much better in high school. Most famous women authors I can think of, though, are not ‘serious’ enough for most curriculums. Like, I couldn’t imagine reading Jane Austen. I see you are reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin, though. I read that in university. 🙂

  9. hi!

    I’m new here (found you through Clare) and I’m up for reading 5 books by women. I’m always more likely to do something if being challenged and I’ve been meaning to get around to some of the books on my shelf.

  10. Hi! I’m new in the book-blogosphere, and came across this mini-challenge too late to join in this year. But your post has prompted me to look again at gender balance in my own reading, and I’ve noted a couple of lists of books by women authors which I’ll be choosing from over the next while.
    For this month, I’ll be finishing an anthology of “Irish Women’s Letters” compiled by Laurence Flanagan – thanks for nudging me to pick it up from the bottom of my current reading pile! Cheers and happy March reading. Abbie

  11. Good for you hosting a mini-challenge! I was finally able to go the library, and I’ve got all sorts of women’s history/feminism books either checked out or on hold. Those are nonfiction, of course.

    I just realised that all of the books I’ve read this month, except for a graphic novel (which was illustrated by a woman), were written by women! This is unusual for me-my first year of blogging I made a conscious effort to read more women writers. And I just finished a Woolf novel! That’s like super extra bonus points. Woo-hoo! hehe

    I’m not very knowledgable about the canon, but I think we definitely read more male than female authors. I would find it frustrating, but most of the kids I knew in high school didn’t do the assigned reading anyway, so I don’t think it made a huge difference. 😉

  12. What a wonderful idea. I’m in for 5 books. It’s frightening how many wonderful books by woman writers would have been lost had they not been reprinted by small presses in recent years.( I’m thinking Virago and Persephone in particular.) Somebody asked me a while ago where the equivilants for male authors were and just couldn’t understand that there wasn’t the same need…

  13. I am surprised that women read so few women. I have to remind myself to give men a chance. Since most of my reading for college were men, I think they get more than their fair shake.

    At Color Online, we focus on women of color and please understand how diverse this descriptor is. By women of color I mean women authors from around the globe. I am most familiar with AA authors but I am very interested in multicultural literature so you’ll find profiles and titles by women all over the world.

    We’re currently hosting an Around The Globe Challenge. Check our sidebar. If you submit a review and we publish it, you’re eligible for our random drawing. And you pick your prize.

    I hope many of you will check us out. We’re an interactive community. We’d love to hear from you.

    Peace,
    Color Online
    aka
    Susan

  14. […] 1.75/10 Read Your Name Challenge – 2/6 Orbis Terrarum Challenge – 0/10 1% Well-Read – 0/13 Celebrate Women’s History Month – 7/7  COMPLETE Once Upon a Time III Challenge – 4/4  COMPLETE Personal reading goal for 2009 […]

  15. […] Your Name Challenge – 2/6 Orbis Terrarum Challenge – 0/10 1% Well-Read – 0/13 Celebrate Women’s History Month – 7/7 Once Upon a Time III Challenge – 1/4 Personal reading goal for 2009 – […]

Leave a Reply

