Review – Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

good-omens1“It’s like you said the other day,” said Adam.  “You grow up readin about pirates and cowboys and spacemen and stuff, and jus when you think the world’s all full of amazin things, they tell you it’s really all dead whales and chopped down forests and nucular waste hangin about for millions of years.”

– pg 223

I’m going to do a super-speedy review of this:

It made me laugh out loud.  In other words, it made me LOL.  I read it out loud to my roommates and they did not laugh as much as I did, but that is probably because it was not as funny out of context.  I like books about the end of the world, and I like books that make me laugh.  Who knew you could put that together?!

Book facts:

The anti-christ is 11 years old.
A demon and an angel work together to stop the end of the world because the demon likes cars too much and the angel likes  books too much.
Agnes Nutter’s great-great-etc-granddaughter interprets her prophesies about the end of the world.
The four horsemen of the apocalypse ride motorcycles.

I don’t really have anything specific to say about this one.  It was funny, I like this Terry Pratchett character.  I’m going to have to explore his work further.  It was boring for approximately 40 pages in the middle, but after that it was once again loltastic.

90%Want some laughs?  Like to read about the end of the world?  Read it!

7 thoughts on “Review – Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

    1. Nope, but I’d like to check him out. I think I’m going to request some stuff from the library. I’ll let you know what I think 🙂

  1. I lOVE this book 😀 It’s fantastic. In fact, I haven’t read it in a long time. It’s certainly time for a reread. As for Pratchett, I’d definitely recommend his newest book, Nation. It’s a young adult book that’s just amazing. It got a Printz honor!

  2. I found this site accidentally, but I wanted to say that I love, love, love this book. Good Omens is one of my “best book friends” – one of those books that I pick up and reread (at least partially) whenever I’m feeling a bit blue.
    If you want to read more Terry Pratchett, I’d suggest taking a look at his Discworld series. It’s fantasy with a great big dose of satire and humor thrown in. Lots of footnotes. And Death is a fairly regular character (albeit a little bit more affable in Discworld).

Leave a Reply

