Interview me!

Everyone has been getting interviewed lately and I wanted to jump in on the action, so I asked Kim to send me some questions.  Here it goes 🙂

1. If you were to write a novel, what would your novel be about?
Maybe I’m already writing a novel.  Maybe.  Maybe not.  I want to eventually write something worth publishing, but you have to start somewhere right?  I’ve had a couple of ideas for books in the past, but right now I’m working on one that I really want to finish.  It’s a story told from many points of view about something big that happens in the United States.  I know that’s vague, but I’m a little superstitious about writing about it.  One day I’d like to write a book about my family, or at least based on my family, because they are some crazy kids who have lived interesting lives.  And I’ve just been watching and recording them over the years.

2. What is your dream job?
To own my own bookstore and to be a writer.  As for slightly more realistic possibilities, I wouldn’t mind translating novels for a living.  I don’t know how lucrative that is, but I enjoy the translating I’ve done so far, and wouldn’t mind keeping it up.

3. What is one book that changed your opinion on an important issue?
Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver.  It’s not so much that they changed my opinion about anything that it got me thinking about what’s going on in Africa, what we’re doing over there and what we’re not doing over there.  It opened my eyes to a history of the world that I had never even begun to learn about in school.  I wrote my high school senior thesis on the independence of the Congo and it was fascinating, and scary that not a word of it had been mentioned in my classes.

4. If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would it be and why?
Sweeping family dramas!  Does that count as a genre?  I love them.

5. What is one book that you think everyone should be required to read?  Why?
There are lots of books I think everyone should read.  One book, which is actually a play, that I think people should read is the Athol Fugard play Statements After an Arrest Under the Immorality Act.  This is another one that really got me thinking about African history, in this case South African history.  I had never heard of the play before I took a class on post-colonial literature.  The play is based on Antigone, but set it a South African prison.  It’s so good, and it’s not very well-known in the US.  If you’ve read it, let me know!

Want to be interviewed?  I’m sure most of you have done this one already, but if you want some more questions, let me know and I’ll ask 🙂

5 thoughts on “Interview me!

  1. oh lol!:) I came here to ask you to send me your email id so i can mail you the interview questions.. but looks you already got around to doing the meme!:) Interesting answers!:) I enjoyed reading Poisonwood Bible as well.. what got me thinking about Africa and made me want to read more books about the continent was “Roots” by Alex Haley.. have you read it??

  2. I think it is so nice to meet someone else who admits that she wants to write a novel! One of my dreams is to write crime fiction, but so far I have not ´sold´ any manuscript. I had a rather encouring rejection last year, however, so I am trying to improve my work now (and there is actually a bit of family drama in it)
    And I really understand that you hesitate to mention it, but sometimes I force myself to tell friends or write about it because I see it as one way of keeping up my resolution.

Leave a Reply

