Blog Improvement Project (3)

2009bip-150x210-copyJust as I was hankering for something to blog about (other than the Great Job Search – more on this later), Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness posted the most recent “challenge” for the Blog Improvement Challenge, and let me tell you this is a good one!

While I was reading the introduction to Kim’s post, I was thinking to myself, well, how many types of blog posts could there be?  And haven’t I most likely done them all?  How about a big resounding NO on that one.  I am really intrigued by Kim’s challenge – to do one of every kind of post.  Because, I for one, like gift cards, and I like challenges.

Since we have two weeks, eventually I will complete all of the posts she has recommended.

Here is the list of blog post topics she has suggested:

  1. A Link Post – share a series of links your readers might find interesting
  2. A Short Post – less than 200 words
  3. A List Post – simple as it sounds, a list of some sort
  4. An Opinion Post – take an event, news, or another blog post and share your opinion on it
  5. A Poll or Question Post – post a poll or ask your readers a specific question for feedback
  6. A How-To Post – You’re an expert in something; big or small, share how to do it
  7. A Long Post – more than 700 words
  8. A Review Post – self-explanatory, I think )
  9. A Definition Post – show your expertise about a topic related to your blog
  10. FREE SPACE – a type of post of your choice (that is not the same as one of the previous posts)

I’ll cross them off and link to the posts as I go.  I love a healthy challenge, so I’m looking forward to this one.  Especially since I don’t have very many of these kind of posts, other than review posts.  And random posts that are not relevant.  But this should help that!

How’s everyone else doing on the blog improvement project?

9 thoughts on “Blog Improvement Project (3)

  1. Hooray, I am glad you are looking forward to it. I got very excited when this idea finally crystallized for me yesterday afternoon, but then was worried other people wouldn’t like the idea as much as I do 🙂

  2. blog improvement? ha!

    (just kidding)

    Oh, I had a dream while I was taking a nap and you were in it. We (+ Fail) were driving in my car through the mail center at school (because that is totally possible) when my car is hit from behind with a fork lift and is then lifted and spun around in circles. We are all screaming, but then the fork lifter lets us down in a safety deposit box room, and there are a shit ton of cats everywhere including the retardacats. You are arguing with the fork lift driver because he is Chinese, and in the dream you speak perfect chinese while Fail and I are laying on the ground with the cats. Then, in the middle of your argument session you turn to me and say while pointing to this mangy, ugly cat, “That cat has kaligophrasicus stripes like Oskar AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.” And you start to freak out. That was the end of my dream.

  3. I accidently skipped the second one (I meant to get around to it, but brainstorming isn’t something I’ve ever needed to practice! lol), but I’m very excited about this one. 😀 Tomorrow I’m going to do my list post-a list of books in honour of Black History month!

  4. My blog improvement participation is to support all you blog-improvers and cheer you on. Looking forward to the variety you come up with!

    I subbed again today and it was a strange day – I was only an aide for the high school special ed but I got to help make cinnamon rolls for food class, then a tough algebra class (I had fun here) and then history (ugh – a bit boring and slow) and then I had to go to a local hotel and help kids clean a room! crazy. but NO discipline problems that I had to deal with – I never once had to yell “be quiet!”

  5. Not sure I will be able to do all 10 of these, but I have started off well, I think, and suddenly another blogger came up with an idea which may have solved the worst one: the how-to post. 🙂
    And the idea is certainly imaginative.

Leave a Reply

