Sunday Salon (4)

tssbadge2Every time I write one of these posts I’m shocked that so much time has passed.  It’s kind of silly, I know, but still.  It’s already February??  What?  Really what I’m thinking is that it’s almost Spring.  Because, dear Winter, I’m sick of you.

In any case, off to the reading stats.  Since it is the end of January, here’s what I’ve read so far:

  1. The Things they Carried – Tim O’Brien 95%
  2. Animal Dreams – Barbara King 70%
  3. Musicophilia – Oliver Sacks 89%
  4. Yarrow: An Autumn Tale – Charles de Lint 75%
  5. El Otro Árbol de Guernica – Luis de Castresenas 89%
  6. Love Medicine – Louise Erdrich   93%

Short stories read:

  1. La siesta del martes – Gabriel García Márquez
  2. Excerpt from: La casa de los espirtus – Isabel Allende

Six books isn’t bad, but I usually read more.  It was a slow month, mostly because reading el Árbol took me a long time.  I’m surprised that I didn’t read a book between Musicophilia and Yarrow, but I guess I was just busy getting back to school.

Total pages read: 1883
Books by male authors: 5
Books by female authors: 1

I’m actually happy I’ve read so many great books so far this year.  I was recently looking over the books I read in 2008 and what I was mostly struck by was how many unsatisfactory books I read.  There were few books I read that I would honestly recommend to someone else.  There were many books I gave 2 stars (though I’ve since upped my rating system to a percentage system).  There were few books that I loved.  So far this year, I’ve been blown away by two of the books I’ve read (The Things They Carried, Love Medicine). The other books are books are all books I would recommend (except maybe Animal Dreams, but only because there are so many other, better books by Kingsolver out there).  So far, it’s been a good year for reading and I can’t wait to read more!

I’ve finally gotten my hands on a copy of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz.  I was 37 on the library’s waiting list, and I got it a lot sooner than I thought I would.  I almost caved and bought it a couple weeks ago, but I’m glad I didn’t because it came at the perfect time.   I’m about 50 pages in, and it’s been pretty good, but there are a lot of things I have to look up!

I can’t wait to review Love Medicine.  It’s a wonderful, quoteable, lyrical novel and I really loved it.  Be on the look out for the reviews!

Leave a Reply

