Sunday Salon (3)

tssbadge22Another Sunday!  Do you know what that means?  It has been 4 Sundays since I started my blog.  Sometimes I can’t believe how quickly time goes.  Sometimes it slows down to a crawl, but school has definitely made it speed up a bit lately.

I finally seem to be out of my reading funk.  I haven’t read much of anything for the past two weeks, other than Árbol for class.  It took me a long time at first because I had to look up quite a few words, but after the first 100 pages or so I had most of the vocabulary the author likes to use down.  Now I’m only looking up one or two words a page.  I have 40 pages left, and will hopefully finish tonight.

I finished reading Yarrow: An Autumn Tale by Charles DeLint this morning.  I couldn’t put it down after I got into the story.  It was interesting, but I’m fairly certain my library has it shelved under YA, where it most definitely does not belong.  It’s obvious that the book was one of his earlier ones; I was less impressed with this one than I have been with some of the other ones I have read by him, but it was still an enjoyable  (and addicting) read.  I tried to explain it to my roommate this morning, but vampires vs. gnomes/humans didn’t really do it justice.   I’m looking forward to posting two reviews this week!  Now I have the exciting task of deciding which book to read next.

I’m in a creative writing poetry class this semester and one of our projects is to read and recommend at least three books of poetry.  I’m definitely lacking in the poetry reading area.  I’m a huge fan of ee cummings, I’ve read a couple of his books of poetry.  I also have the best edition of Allen Ginsberg’s Howl ever.  Emily Dickinson is another favorite.  I read a bunch of poetry from students because I’m editor of our literary magazine, but that’s really as far as I’ve gone into the poetry world.  I’m going to be posting the reviews here, and they will then be linked to the class’s blog.  I’m going to my professor’s “library” on Tuesday afternoon to find a couple books to check out.  Also, if you spend an hour alphebetizing you get a $5 gift card to the local coffee shop, something I’m definitely going to take advantage of.   Something to look forward to this week!

In other news:

Happy birthday Virginia Woolf!
Happy birthday Virginia Woolf!

Now I’m off to eat more shepherd’s pie leftovers!  Yum.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon (3)

  1. You’ll have to share what poets you find! My favourites, other than cummings, include Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Anne Sexton, Adrienne Rich, Pablo Neruda, James Wright, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and of course my Russians (but I read them in Russian-I don’t know what they’d be like in English).

    Anyway, I’m trying to read more poetry this year, so I need some new poets to check out! 🙂

  2. I haven’t read Yarrow yet, but it seems hard to go wrong with De Lint.

    I was going to tell you my favourite poets, but Eva has already listened most of them 😛 To the ones she mentioned I’d add Browning, some Byron and Sharon Olds.

Leave a Reply

