Booking Through Thursday

btt24I know I already posted today, but I couldn’t pass up this BTT question. 

If you’re anything like me, there are songs that you love because of their lyrics; writers you admire because their songs have depth, meaning, or just a sheer playfulness that has nothing to do with the tunes.

So, today’s question?

* What songs … either specific songs, or songs in general by a specific group or writer … have words that you love?
* Why?
* And … do the tunes that go with the fantastic lyrics live up to them?

Best song ever written:

Hallelujah – Leonard Cohen

Now I’ve heard there was a secret chord,
that David played and it pleased the Lord
but you don’t really care for music do you?
[…]
There’s a blaze of light in every word
it doesn’t matter which you heard
the holy or the broken Hallelujah.

To me, this song is near perfection.  Like I’ve said before, I’m pretty musically challenged, but just hearing this song, whoever sings it, gives me chills.  The words match the music and the lyrics themselves are amazingly poetic.  Take that last stanza I quoted.  I’m not sure I even noticed how deep and meaningful it was until I wrote it down.

One of my all time favorite lines from a song is from Andrew Bird’s Armchairs.

I dreamed you were a cosmonaut
of the space between our chairs
and I was a cartographer
of the tangles in your hair.

When I listen to songs, I usually listen for the lyrics.  This drives my roommate insane.  She says, and I quote, “Maybe I just can’t hear the good lyrics through the ear-drum blistering noise and cat yowling.”   We agreed that we like 60% of each other’s music and the other 30% is okay and the last 10% is unlistenable.  

Alison Krauss and Robert Plant have a song on their album called “Killing the Blues” which was originally written by Rowland Salley.

Leaves were falling, just like embers,
In colors red and gold, they set us on fire
Burning just like moonbeams in our eyes.

Beautiful!

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I mentioned “Hallelujah” in my BTT post too (which isn’t up yet, and won’t make it on Thursday – still in progress!), specifying the version sung by Jeff Buckley. One of the greatest songs ever, I have to agree.

Leave a Reply

