Weekly Geeks (1)

One of the first posts I read when I joined the blogging community was a post about Dewey.  I arrived in the community just as that was happening and it’s obvious from all of the posts that  I missed someone special.  I am proud to join this meme, especially after knowing Dewey’s story.

wgbookpileIn the spirit of the amazing community building that Dewey was so good at, tell us about your favorite blogs, the ones you have bookmarked or subscribe to in your Google Reader, that you visit on a regular basis. Tell us what it is about these blogs that you love, that inspire or educate you or make you laugh. Be sure to link to them so we can find them too.

I am going to make this list based on the bloggers that have made me feel the most welcome.  They have all been inspiring, offering loads of advice, complements and constructive criticism.   Technically, that is all of you.  But there are a few that have really gone above and beyond to make me feel like part of the community.  I know you guys are going to get sick of me going on and on about how great all of you are, but hey, I can’t help it.

  • Eva.  Eva’s blog was one of the first ones I found and one of the first I commented on.  Since then she’s been stopping by and commenting on my posts.  She’s really been great.  I also love reading her blog.  It’s informative and interesting and pretty to look at.  She also started Library Loot, which I’m ridiculously excited about.
  • J. Kaye.  J. Kaye was one of the first bloggers that found me.  She found me on the Book Blogs forum here.  She’s made me feel very welcome and her blog is always a good place to check for giveaways and her reviews are always well written :).
  • Chris of Stuff as Dreams Are Made Of.  Always leaves a nice comment and I like his blog too.  It’s well-designed and he’s got a great taste in books.
  • Nymeth.  She reviews the coolest books and has made time to come here and comment.  I really appreciate it!  Also, she has good taste in music blogs.
  • Daphne.  I love Daphne’s combination of life/cooking/books.
  • Lezlie.  Another blogger who came on over to my site to wish me luck in my blogging endeavor and stuck around to comment a few more times!  I love her reviews and her blog.  And we have the same name.
  • Kim.  Not only has she made me feel wecome, but she started the Blog Improvement Project, which is just what I need!

I could list every single person who has commented on my page.  I always check on their blogs and almost always add them to my reader!  I’m reading your blogs, and trying to comment.

That leads me to a question:  how do you respond to your commentors?  Do you write another comment?  Do you go back to their blog and comment on their page?  I’ve been trying both, but I’m not sure which one works the best.  What do you all recommend?

12 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks (1)

  1. Well thanks so much! I sure am in great company there 🙂 I always respond to comments by just leaving another comment in the post. I find it’s the easiest way to do things and keeps the conversation going!

  2. Great list of blogs, Leslie.

    I’m sometimes stumped about the comment question too – because I don’t always go back and check where I’ve left comments, I assume other bloggers don’t either (who has the time??) If it’s something I really want a response to or to start a dialogue, I’ll go to the commenter’s blog and leave a response.

    You also have the option on some blogs of adding the comments to your reader or choosing email followups; sometimes I’ll do that if I feel the need to follow the conversation. Or if I’ve made some extremely witty comment and want to read the feedback! LOL!

    Great to have you here as part of WG!

  3. Thanks so much Lu! 😀

    When I started blogging, I always replied to peoples’ comments by going back to their blog. But now I just reply on my own-I think it works a lot better. If someone asks me a really direct question, though, I reply via e-mail to them.

  4. Awww, thank you! I’m thrilled to be in such great company 😀 And yay, you like my taste in music blogs! These days, thanks to blogging, I have lots of people to discuss books with, but I don’t get to talk about music all that much anymore, and sometimes I miss it. Before blogger I had a livejournal where most of what I did was blab about bands, concerts I’d been to, etc 😛

    As for replying to comments, I prefer doing it by leaving a comment with the replies on that same post. I think that works well because it keeps it all in one place.

  5. Hi – newbie to weekly geeks. Great links and many I have already checked out.

    In regard to comments, when I comment on a blog, I subscribe so will get emails of follow up posts. If someone comments on my blog, I generally answer on my blog. At least I try tool.

    Thanks

    Robin

  6. Just letting you know I’ve dropped in from Weekly Geeks and browsed your interesting blog. Your last question is a good one. I try to visit blogs like those who post in Weekly Geeks.
    I also try to respond to everyone who comments on my blog posts. I often just do that on my blog, but sometimes I pop over and have a look at their blog too, and then leave a comment there.
    Haven’t solved your problem I’m afraid

  7. Thank you! I usually add my reply comments to the same post on my blog; that way if other people drop by they can see how the conversation has gone. I try to check back when I leave comments on other blogs, but I’m not great about it. I still haven’t figured out a good way to keep track.

Leave a Reply

