BTT & a visit from the book fairy

btt23It’s a week or two later than you’d expect, and it may be almost a trite question, but … what were your favorite books from 2008?

The best books I read in 2008 were:

Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie & A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

  • For my thoughts on these books read my post here.

Fall on Your Knees by Anne-Marie McDonald

  • I know a lot of people don’t like this book, but I found the characters to be captivating.  The characters were so interesting and the plot, though sometimes a little outlandish, was very interesting.  Anyone else out there read it and have an opinion on it?

Platform – Michel Houellebecq

  • I checked the books The Elementary Particles and Platform by Houellebecq at the same time.  I read The Elementary Particles first and absolutely hated it.  Despised it.  I think it’s probably in the top ten worst books I’ve ever read.  So, you can imagine, I was not looking forward to reading Platform, but I was out of town and it was the only book I had.  It was so much better.  The story was dirty and crass, just like The Elementary Particles had been, but for some reason it made so much more sense in Platform. The characters were not insufferable, the situation was legitimately novel worthy.  I don’t know if it would have been on this list if I hadn’t read The Elementary Particles first, but I did, so it is.

Looking back on the list of books I read, I was really disappointed with a lot of the books I read.  They weren’t bad, but they were overall mediocre.  Though I guess three of the books I read made it to my favorites list, so that’s something.    Here’s to better reading in 2009!

books1

Including the books I got from the bookstore today!  I was unexpectedly offered a trip to Borders by my step-brother and $20 was generously donated to Lu’s Book Fund.  That, plus a $15 gift card, and $7 of my own money, got me FIVE books.  Yes!  Two of them were half off!  Yes after-holiday sales!  Please excuse the excessive exclamation points.

Interview with a Vampire – Ann Rice

  • When my aunt found out I hadn’t read this yet her response was: oh, you’re so lucky, I wish I could read it for the first time again.  That’s a pretty impressive recommendation if you ask me.  I”m looking forward to it.

The Gravedigger’s Daughter and Missing Mom – Joyce Carol Oates

  • I read a good review of Daughter somewhere (I cannot for the life of me figure out where it was, I’ve searched my reader and I guess it isn’t there.  If it was you, let me know.  Perhaps it was Amazon…) and decided to pick it up.  Mom was on sale for half off and it sounded like something I would enjoy so I picked it up.

The Black Dahlia – James Ellroy

  • $2.99!

Beside a Burning Sea – John Shors

  • I kept trying to put this one back because I have never heard of it.  Something about it (potentially the beautiful cover) made me buy it.  I hope it lives up to the feeling.

In other news:

Trudging through The Terror.  I hope it gets more interesting soon!

6 thoughts on “BTT & a visit from the book fairy

  1. I read Fall on Your Knees a few years ago and liked it. Unfortunately, that was pre-blog, so I don’t remember much more than I liked it.

    Enjoy your new books! (The Black Dahlia looks like she’s having a bad hair day.)

  2. Half of a Yellow Sun was one of my favorites this year too, stellar writing. My TBR pile for this year includes A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and Fall on Your Knees – so your picks bode well! I haven’t heard of the other one.

    Have you read Joyce Carol Oates before? I’m not a fan, after reading some of her short stories. I hope you have a better reading experience of her.

  3. If you have an interest in the Black Dahlia, I highly recommend the Black Dahlia Files. It’s a non-fiction book that came out a couple of years ago. Excellent!

  4. Oooh, you really are in for a treat with Interview With the Vampire! It was my first Anne Rice book and it started an obsession with her when I was a teenager. If you like that one, I recommend The Witching Hour by her as well. It’s my favorite of hers.

  5. Totally, enjoy Interview. If you like it, you have a loooong run of fun books to keep you busy!

    The Terror builds slowly, but then it becomes captivating. At least, that’s what I thought. Stick with it.

  6. This is not an answer to your question but rather a comment to the comment you posted on my blog. I have just made my own ´reading challenge´ for readers who are not really into crime fiction.
    Look in – if you dare! 🙂

    Anyway, I have never been able to answer questions of this kind. I am thrilled by far too many books to even try making a list (90 % would probably be crime fiction, but Paul Auster and André Dubus might also appear).

Leave a Reply

