Am I Cool Enough Yet?

To do a giveaway?

That’s right, folks.  I’ve only been on the internet for five days and I’m already trying to give something away.  Gee, you think.  That’s ambitious.  Sure.  But I already have 18 hits on my blog.  That’s more people than I know in the real world.  Other than those people that are related to me because I can’t even count those.  But, I digress.  The point is, I cleaned my room last night (a New Year miracle in itself), and I have stacks and stacks of books that I don’t need anymore.  They’re all worth reading, they just don’t fit on my new $30 bookshelf.

The rules:  Leave a comment with some advice for my little blogling.  The best tip/advice will win your choice of one of three book packages. The remaining packages will be given away later (or if anyone is interested in a swap, let me know!)

The prizes:  The Writer’s Package (all how-to, writing advice books), the Historical Fiction Package and the Young Adult Package.   Each package contains at least 2 books!  Woo!

May the best advice win.
Challenge end date: Jan 11th

10 thoughts on “Am I Cool Enough Yet?

  1. The best advice I can give you is to join some blogging community activities like memes or community projects to start finding other blogs to read. Then start leaving comments on blogs you like or reviews you find interesting, and then people will start stopping back to your blog too.

    The first community thing I joined was Weekly Geeks, which you can find out more about if you read some of the posts at http://www.weeklyGeeks.com. I met a ton of other bloggers that way.

    The book blogging community is great, welcome!!

    Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness)

  2. My advice complements Kim’s somewhat and it is to go at your own pace and not get overwhelmed by all the memes, challenges and whatnot. It is sometimes easy to forget that what brings us all here is the joy we get out of reading and talking about books with others, not how many books we read or how many challenges we win.

    Welcome to the book blogging world!

  3. My best advice is to write reviews that you would want to read, and make them personal. I always like reading reviews that include the writer’s reactions, and perhaps a tangential personal story that the book brought up, etc. I almost never read straight summaries. I can get that on Amazon. I want to know what people really *think* about books and what they mean.

    Oh, and pictures are fun too. 🙂

  4. I like Kim, Lesley, and Daphne’s advice.

    My advice is to blogsurf as much as you can; when I was starting out, I’d check out the entire blogroll of a blogger I liked when I had the free time. First of all, you can leave comments that way (don’t lurk!), which will make you new bloggy friends-I always check out the blog of a new commenter on mine, but sometimes it takes me a few comments to remember to put them in my blog reader. 🙂 And secondly, you can see what you like about other book blogs and ‘borrow’ it (with or without asking, depending on what it is). There are lots of different styles of book blogs out there, and various niches, so I’m sure you’ll find inspiration!

    My other piece of advice is to pick a shorter nickname, lol. I go by my middle name, and most bloggers go by either a human name or human nickname. If you’re worried about privacy, you can always pick the name of one of your favourite characters or authors or something!

    Oh, and if you ask questions in your post, you’ll get more comments. And I know I love comments, so you probably do too. 😉

    1. I’m still working my way around wordpress, so I wasn’t even sure if I could change that display name. I figured it out! Regular Rumination is just the name of my blog, I go by Leslie or Lu, and I think I’ve been signing my comments that way, or with just L. Thanks for your advice! Definitely going to listen 🙂

  5. Welcome to blogging! I have a feeling I’ll enjoy your blog :p And this is a fun giveaway 🙂 My best advice for blogging is just to hang out really and be yourself. The blogs I love best are those where people just seem to be themselves if that makes sense, lol. Looks like you’re doing a great job so far! You’ll find that it’s very easy to fit into this community! It’s extremely warm and welcoming and it’s tons of fun! Glad to have you on board!

  6. I don’t really have much to add to the excellent advice you’ve already been given. Joining a challenge or two is also a good way of meeting other bloggers, especially if it’s one with a review site where you can add your post to the Mr. Linky. When I first started blogging, challenge posts would always get more hits and comments. Careful, though…they can be addictive 😛

  7. Blogging has become the most therapuetic thing out there for me! My advice is to comment on others blogs who visit you and look for other new blogs to visit as well! I have made a lot of new friends and enjoy every minute of my blogging!! I wish you luck and giveaways are always good for hits..Also, be real and post often! Be interesting and funny!! Good luck and most of all have FUN!!

  8. Here’s a tip I haven’t seen yet- download the StumbleUpon (http://www.stumbleupon.com/) toolbar, and submit each post to StumbleUpon. If you’re not familiar with Stumble, it’s a toolbar, and it has such buttons as Stumble, Thumbs Up and Thumbs Down. You fill out this list of stuff that interests you, and when you submit it, you hit the Stumble button in your toolbar. You’ll be sent to a site that matches up with one of your interests! (It’s a total time suck, but a great way to find new sites.) You can change your interests at any time- for instance, you can set it only to Crafts, and spend the night surfing only sites that have to do with crafts. Now, if you find a site you really like (and do this with each and every post of your blog, as well as just the main page of your blog), hit the Thumbs Up I Like It! button. That’ll submit that page of your blog to Stumble Upon (it’ll also say, “You’ve discovered a new page!” and you have to enter some categories your blog fits into- examples- books, blogs, reading, novels, literature, etc.), and now when people who have categories that match up with what you filled out use their StumbleUpon, they might come across YOUR blog.

    It’s a totally cool little gadget, and it’s a LOT of fun. Welcome to the book blogging world! 😀

  9. Blogging tip? Have fun, be yourself and comment at my site all the time. HA!!

    You’re doing just fine, imo. (in other words, you’ll do just fine following all the other advice given here.)

    Thx for telling me abt this giveaway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

